Are there standardized templates or schemas for DITA specializations in defense documentation?

Creating standardized templates or schemas for DITA specializations in defense documentation is a common practice to ensure consistency, streamline content creation, and meet industry-specific requirements. These templates provide a structured framework that authors can follow, facilitating the efficient creation of defense documentation while adhering to established standards.

Common Elements and Structures

Standardized DITA templates for defense documentation typically define common elements and structures that are frequently used in this domain. For instance, templates may include predefined sections for topics like “Operational Procedures,” “Safety Guidelines,” or “Technical Specifications.” These templates also specify the expected elements within each section, such as titles, descriptions, and references. This consistency ensures that defense documentation follows a uniform structure, making it easier for readers to navigate and understand the content.

Attributes and Metadata

Templates and schemas may also define attributes and metadata that are specific to defense documentation. This can include attributes for categorizing content by security level, compliance requirements, or classification. For example, an attribute may be defined to indicate whether a document contains “Top Secret” or “Unclassified” information. By incorporating these attributes, defense-specific DITA templates enable authors to provide essential context and information about the content’s nature and handling.


Here’s an example of a standardized DITA template for a “Technical Specification” section in defense documentation:

<section id="tech_spec">
  <title>Technical Specification</title>
  <description>A detailed technical description of the system components.</description>
    <requirement id="req1">...
    <requirement id="req2">...

In this example, the DITA template defines the structure of a “Technical Specification” section, including the title, description, a list of requirements, and the security level attribute, which specifies the classification of the content.